In Brianna’s Words

One of our high school juniors, Brianna Shephard, has shared her poetry with me, and has given me permission to post this one. Her picture is at the end – she is one beautiful soul. If you want to leave a comment for her I will make sure she gets it…

UrbanPromise                                               7.13.11

 

Day by day

I come to UrbanPromise

And I ask myself

Why to do I keep coming back

Well I come back because…

Ya’ll helped me to realize a lot.

 

Before I came to UrbanPromise

I didn’t think

I could do anything

My self-esteem was low

I didn’t think

I was anyone because I was always bullied

 

I was always call the ugly, slow girl

People always told me

I wasn’t going to achieve anything

I’ve been stomped in the dirt too much

And look where it got me

 

Then when I met new friends

And other people

UrbanPromise became my

Second family because…I called everyone

My brothers and sisters

 

One thing I know

No matter how crazy or weird

I acted ya’ll never judged me

You always encouraged me to

Do good and achieve my goals

 

And to tell ya’ll the truth

UrbanPromise helped me to have faith

And to believe because I didn’t have that

But UrbanPromise saved my life

I could have been one lost child

 

After I started taking control of my

Life

And when I looked in the mirror

I said I am something

I am beautiful

I can do it

So all the people

I have hating and stomping all over me

No more

So if you don’t like me

Brush it off and get over it

Because…

I am a different person now

And I am in love with the new me

And no one

Is going to mess that up

img 1425

img 1425

3 responses

  1. Brianna, we read your poem this morning as a family. My 15 year old daughter, Rebecca and my 13 year old son Luke said you are an inspiration to kids who are struggling and being bullied. My husband Bob said your strength and perseverance are a model for us all to follow.

Leave a Reply

